Posted by: AceRailgun | May 12, 2013

Anime Movies you should watch Part 2

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

I blew the best anime movies on the first part of the list but it’s not all bad as some of these movie are equally good. Well… Maybe not since they are lower in the rankings but don’t let that put you off too much. These movies are still better than hundreds of other anime movies out there and if you haven’t seen one or more of them I suggest you get off you fat (or not so fat) butt and go watch them. It will take 90 minutes at most and it’s only 90 minutes you would have spent doing something less meaningful unless of course you are a scientist or a doctor or something super important like that. If you are one of those go do more important things please and the rest of us will enjoy these stunning movies and tell you about them later.

 

But now let me get right to the point since I’ve been beating around the bush like gardener who showed up to work without his hedge clippers. You can hit that bush all you want with a shovel but it ain’t going to tell these people about the awesome movies.

 

5. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

She jumped, leapt and fell through time wasting most of her chances before she realized what was going on but that’s what made it entertaining as the desperate situation she was left with was entertaining and the results were not what I was expecting. Not a bad thing as the ending was really nice and it felt like the protagonist had accomplished something which really helps my immersion.

 

Mardock Scramble 1

 

6. Mardock Scramble 1 and 2

It’s got a genetically modified talking homosexual dolphin in a inter-species relationship and a man with called pussy hands who’s name is literal and I’m not talking about the meowing kind of pussy. It might sound silly but that’s all taken out of context to some extent. It’s got an interesting world filled with interesting characters but what I love most about it is the cyborg girl Rune Ballot who has the cutest voice ever.

 

Spirited Away

7. Spirited Away

I’ll admit that even with all the anime I’ve watch I’m not a huge Ghibli fan boy like most of you are but that’s okay because everyone is allowed to have their own taste. Saying that I still really enjoyed Spirited Away and that’s because the story makes sense to me, plus it had that funny scene where Chihiro’s parents turn into pigs. So if you haven’t seen it I’d suggest checking it out as it’s one of the most accessible Ghibi films and it won awards and stuff.

 

Redline

8. Redline

Artistic is an understatement as this movie is all about the visual of overly animated action racing. The whole movie is like that picture above except it’s moving a million miles a minute with explosions and fast paced music to match the zany races. Everything is so over the top in this movie it’s funny, the characters, the plot and the villain are just so eccentric you won’t believe what you are watching and when it’s all over you will be left wondering why that all happened. Then later you’ll close your eyes to sleep and all you will see is animated explosions and speed lines. At least that’s what happened to me, you may even start twitching.

 

This isn’t even the last part of this list, I’ve got another one coming in a week or two or three if it gets desperate. Keep an eye out for that and recommend me some movie that aren’t on this list and aren’t Ghibi (I’ve seen all those that I care to) Plus a warning to anyone who recommends the most amazing sounding movie from the 80’s or further back… Those are impossible to find now days and it makes me sad when i can’t find stuff, knowing that I’ll never see something great can be very painful… But then I’ll get over it and watch the recommendations from 2000 and onward.


Responses

  1. REDLINE. That is all. Also, have you ever watched Tokyo Godfathers? I personally find it amazing. Also also, link to part 1 in post pretty please😛 Had to search for it. Yes I’m lazy >.>

  2. I loved the first Mardock Scramble movie, but the second one was a bit of a disappointment. I’m hoping that the third one will be much better.

    • I feel the same way. I loved the first one but the second one was lacking somewhat, not that it was bad though. Fingers crossed the third one is good, I’m really looking forward to it.

  3. I guess I’ll definitely need to check out Mardock Scramble soon! It’s been on my computer since forever, so I guess it’d be good to finally get around to it.

    As for some recommendations, considering there are more of these posts to come, I’m not entirely sure if you’ve already seen these, but a few worth checking out are: Sword of the Stranger, Tekkon Kinkreet and all of Satoshi Kon’s films

    • Mardock Scramble is strange so be prepared for that but don’t get me wrong it’s great.

      I’ve been meaning to check out Sword of the Stranger and Millennium Actress for a while now. Is there any other Satoshi Kon films that you’d suggest. The only other one I’ve seen is Tokyo Godfathers and I loved it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

