Posted by: AceRailgun | April 28, 2013

Anime movies you should watch – Part 1

Evangelion 1

You know how everyone says you should save the best for last? I sure do and I do it all the time, for example I always eat my vegetables first that way they are gone and I can enjoy whatever is beside them. In this case however I’m going to blow the opening of this post with what I believe is the best anime movie. It might not be your cup of tea and if it isn’t that’s too bad because It’s impressive to say the least.

 

1. Evangelion 1.0 + 2.0

I’m going to count both of them because I feel silly putting them separately. The thing that jumps out for me first is the plot…. What am I saying?! The plot is okay but not a grade material. Where Evangelion makes up for it’s plot is the art and music. Now I’m usually not a fan of bad stories accompanied by amazing art but Evangelion has a decent story and the characters hold it together just long enough for beautiful artwork and atmospheric music to take you into the universe of Evangelion and experience the crazy that cannot be experienced elsewhere. Thee third movie just came out too so I’ll need to make sure to watch that as soon as possible.

 

Hotarubi no Mori e

2. Hotarubi no Mori e

This was a magical experience for me and I will be for you I guarantee it so long as you aren’t one of those violence loving nutcases which crave violence and destruction because you won’t be finding any of that here. What you will find is an adorable cute girl which isn’t that in your face moe garbage and a mysterious guy with nothing to his name except secrets. It’s a journey that spans many years and ends beautifully.

 

Summer Wars 13. Summer Wars

It’s a typical boy meets girl meets the potential end of the world scenario but they use that as the base for truly stunning animation and unique charters you won’t find anywhere else. There was so much going on in this movie it was hard to keep up but if you give it time you’ll be absorbed into it’s world and then suddenly it will be over and yo’ll want to watch it again and again. Well at least that’s how I felt.

 

Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki 14. Wolf Children Ame and Yuki

A shining example of story telling which shouldn’t be overlooked. It tells the story of two half wolf half human children and their complicated upbringing. Aside from the unique settings you can also expect to see some great character development. I talked more about it here.

 

Maybe next week or the week after I’ll do part 2. If there is any anime movie you think belongs on this list please let me know and I’ll be sure to discuss. If it’s a studio Ghibli movie you believe should be on the list please know that those movies  just aren’t my cup of tea.


Responses

  1. I’d say pretty much any Satoshi Kon movie, although I do think people often overlook Tokyo Godfathers.

    • Agreed, all good movies. I really should watch some of them again.

  2. Anything by Makoto Shinkai.

    Akira, Redline, A Letter to Momo, and Sword of the Stranger also come to mind.

    TV-related movies such as The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, TTGL Gurren-hen/Lagann-hen, and Madoka Magica recaps are things I only suggest because I’ve seen the related material prior to watching.

    • I’m always unsure about adding things like Gurren Lagann movies or Madoka recaps because it’s the episodes I enjoyed and not always the movie. Actually it’s kind of a disappointment in some cases because instead of spending all that money to make a new movie with a new story they just recap stuff instead.

      I’ve never seen A Letter to Momo. I looked it up out of curiosity and it looks very odd. You’d recommend it I assume?

  3. The only one of those three i’ve seen is Summer Wars, and I completely agree that it’s a must-watch. It actually reminded me of the Digimon movie >.>
    I’ve been watching through all of the Studio Ghibli movies lately and while they’re all entertaining and I would probably recommend them, they probably wouldn’t make my list of favourite movies. I’m not entirely sure why I feel that way…but maybe it’s because I haven’t seen Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited Away yet. (I’ve been saving them till last)

    • Out of all the Ghibli movies those are the two I enjoyed the most and I’d say Spirited Away is leaps and bounds better than all the rest but that’s just my personal opinion.

      I believe the director of Summer Wars actually practiced the idea for Summer Wars on the Digimon movie so that’s apparently why they are similar. The Digimon movie was a success so I’m assuming he wanted to give the idea another go and got the go ahead to create Summer Wars.

      I’d strongly recommend checking out all the other movies I’ve suggested if you enjoyed Summer Wars.

  4. I am not a big fan of Summer Wars, but it was alright. Was planning to write up something on it. I do agree with on Hotarubi no Mori e, it was amazing. However, I haven’t seen Ame and Yuki, though. Little hesitant about it.

    Time Of Eve and Mai Mai Miracle are two very nice recommendations – especially Time Of Eve. I would like to also say Only Yesterday, but as a Studio Ghibli flim, it probably would only appeal to a specific demographic and age group anyway. Would be more enjoyable for female audiences, but I liked it. On the other hand, Mai Mai Miracle might be hard to comprehend since it is based off another piece of literature. Still worth watching, though.

    • Ah yes I forgot about Time of Eve. I’ve watched the episode version (I think it was 6 episodes) and I loved it. It’s about 30 on my top anime list I believe. I haven’t gotten around to watching the movies though, I’d like to eventually.

      I can see why Summer Wars wouldn’t appeal to some, it was odd but I think that’s what I liked about it. As for Wolf Children I’m near certain you’d like it if you enjoyed Hotarubi no Mori e as the two movies have a very similar atmosphere.

      Sound like I need to try and get my hands on Mai Mai Miracle, I’ve never seen it before but it piques my interest.

  5. I must be one of the only anime fans out there who didn’t especially like Summer Wars. I definitely enjoyed parts of it, but the overall plot had more holes than swiss cheese. Hosoda’s next film Wolf Children was a lot better though – I watched it quite recently and ended up feeling really attached to it.
    While it doesn’t quite fit with the other films here in terms of general tone, I recommend the Cowboy Bebop movie if you haven’t already watched it. It takes place somewhere in the middle of the anime series, but it stands on its own well enough for people who haven’t watched the series first to be able to make sense of everything. Its quality is also on par with what you’d expect from Watanabe.

    • I’m not so much put off by the plot holes as there was a lot going on i didn’t have time to be looking for plot holes. That said Wolf Children was the complete opposite, finding a plot hole in that would be next to impossible. Seeing as you enjoyed Wolf Children I’d suggest checking out Hotarubi no Mori e if you haven’t as it’s got a similar kind of feeling to it.

      I’ve most certainly watched the Cowboy Bebop movie 🙂 and yes I did enjoy it greatly. The only reason I didn’t add it to this list is because I feel it’s more a part of the anime series then a stand alone movie like all these ones are. Otherwise it would have ended up near the top.

  6. No Ghibli on this list? You must be saving it for part 2 xD

  7. i hope you will include Whisper of the Heart in the next list 😛 and Jin-Roh as well..

    • Maybe, just maybe. You’ll have to wait until next week to see 😛

  8. How can you not like Studio Ghibli, everyone has at least one movie of theirs that they like (I’m hoping to see Princess Mononoke in part 2). Pale Cocoon is also a good movie, it’s an indie anime and only about 20 minutes, but still amazing.

    I still haven’t watched Hotarubi no Mori e, it sounds good but I keep forgetting about it.

    • Oh don’t worry there will be some Mononoke and Spirited Away in part too. They just aren’t my favorite movies compared to this part of the list.

      I’ve always wanted to watch Pale Cocoon but I can never seem to find it. I tried to get it once and end up with a seedless torrent sitting about 85%.

      Hotarubi no Mori e is certainly worth your time. It should be fairly easy to find still since it’s fairly new.

      • If you want I could send Pale Cocoon to you somehow, just shoot me an email.

  9. Basically any movies from Studio Ghibli, Satoshi Kon and Makoto Shinkai is worthy of mention (did I miss anything?) Anime movies are something I watched more rarely though and it’s something I would love to remedy had I more time. To proof my point, aside from Evangelion, I didn’t watch any of the other movies mentioned here.
    From my very limited viewings of anime movies however, I would like to add The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and 5 Centimeters Per Second, both are quite exceptional movies^^

    • I’ll admit I too haven’t watched many anime movies but I assure you that what you mentioned while good is not as good as what’ on this list. Except Satoshi movies, I haven’t seen those but after this post it seems like a must.

      Some of the movies you mentioned like The Girl who Leapt Through time will be on part 2 of the list which I’ll probably post in a week or so.

  10. Wow, you listened to my recommendation Ace :O. Kidding aside, totally agree with the choices. Summer Wars and Eva Rebuild, you sir have excellent taste 😀

    • I know I have excellent taste 😛 and if you like those too then you have excellent taste as well.

  11. I posted a comment on your Google+ page idk if you check that or not.

    • Oh sorry about that. Google didn’t give me a notification like it normally does. I suggested some movies on in reply to your comment over there 🙂

  12. you should add 5 Centimeters per second to your list, it made me cry 🙂 Anyway i really wanna check out Summer Wars

    • 5 Centimeters per second was a bit slow for me but I did enjoy it. You really should check out Summer Wars, it was great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

