Posted by: AceRailgun | April 6, 2013

Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki – Wolf Children

Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki 1

You know how when you watch something good you think very highly of it for a few hours before the gushing settles and you can think clearly and critically about it’s highs and lows. Well my brain was fully aware I was experiencing the gushing emotions of story love after I finished Wolf Children Ame and Yuki so I stepped back and waited a whole week thinking a week would be long enough for those feelings to fade but surprisingly they didn’t. This movie is going to stick with me for a long time as one of my favorite anime movies of all time and here’s why. (No spoilers ahead)

 

It took until now until I could figure out which word best sums up the kind of stories I enjoy most and then it suddenly hit me. My favorite type of story is a bittersweet story, not the kind of bitter sweet story where the love interests are separated by death or travels or the kind of bittersweet where a character we never grew attached to dies or affects the protagonist dramatically and leaves. Those are cheap forms of bittersweet that are often swiftly forgotten. The kind I’m talking about is scenarios where time passes, life moves on often leaving a character behind, characters filled with regrets and “what ifs”. Those kinds of stories have the potential to be truly beautiful and it’s easy to find yourself relating to the characters in these kinds of situations.

 

Now I’m not say a single one of us can relate to a mother having half wolf children but I’m sure her social situation hits home for a few of us. Due to the fact that she has very unique children which she must keep secret she becomes isolated and isolates herself further by moving to the country to live in isolation. You’d think the story is about the two children and to some point I’d say that’s true but if you look deeper you start to realize that everyone and everything in this world is telling a story, focus your attention on the mother instead of the children and you’ll be treated to a very different story. Focus you attention on the house they move into and the neighborhood surrounding it and you’ll get another experience unique from the main characters. Actually the house is a good point to bring up, it may be a static object which nobody pays much attention to but it has such a rich story of it’s own being as it’s getting on in the years. The kind of story that is told through imagery and not words, It’s animation so this is suppose to be the norm.

 

I’d highly recommend watching this movie and if you’ve watched it already I’m sure you can agree with me that’s it’s worth watching.


Responses

  1. I actually got the chance to see this screened in New England, followed by a Q&A with the Director. Hosoda-san got a decent amount of questions with what he was trying to do with the movie, and his main point was that he wanted a movie centered around the whole experience of growing up – all the way from birth to late childhood/coming of age. I would say, at least based on my own reflections and yours, that he’s succeeded in telling a story that really is almost all-encompassing. Definitely worth watching.

    • That’s so lucky being able to see the movie at a screening and then on top of that being able to see a Q&A with the director as well. he certainly succeeded in telling a story that showed the progress of growing up and what I find amazing is that the story told two very different version of this as each sibling chooses a very different path in life.

      I’m sure he had a lot to say about the fact that the Ame grows up very differently to Yuki even though they lived in the exact same environment.

  2. i loved your post! i read the manga and was wondering how the movie was!😉

    • Thanks🙂 i didn’t even know there was a manga so need to check that out. The movie was really nicely animated so I’d strongly suggest you check it out if you liked the manga, It’s worth your time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

