Posted by: AceRailgun | October 20, 2012

Special Love

I don’t think most of us have even noticed this or stopped to think about it but seriously it’s been bugging me. Are love interests a bit slow? I mean they are super high maintenance and fudging stupid to the point where it becomes a huge joke. The two characters in question are Shiina from Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo and Haru from Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. Now before I go further I’m just going to say that I’m picking these two because they are the sole love interest and there is no harem in their story. Well okay Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo has harem elements but it’s super obvious which girl he’ll go for.

 

Don’t you think these loves are a bit strange… It’s no Toradora or Clannad… It’s not even comparable to something as average as Gosick or Hanasaku Iroha. Here we are instead with Shiina who is mentally slow and Haru who is uncontrollably violent and has no common sense. I get it these characters are played up to create an interesting anime but by doing so they’ve made it very odd.

 

Clearly you are suppose to put yourself in Sorata’s shoes in Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo and become the male protagonist and take care of this useless girl. What makes this an instant failure is that Sorata doesn’t want to care for her but anyone who is sad enough to “become” Sorata would jump at the chance to care for a hot girl who has a tenancy not  to get dressed.

 

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is the opposite and I feel it’s screaming out one thing which by the way is hilarious to look at from an outsiders perspective and laugh at when people try and find “Controversy” in it. The thing I’m talking about is this “It’s okay Mizutani, he did hit you but it was an honest accident and he didn’t mean it so love him always.” In real life I’m sure this story ends with the abused wife visiting her husband in prison once a week even though she called the police and put him there because he was beating her. But this is story; a cute one at that and Mizutani changed Haru (Something you can’t do in real life) and now they are just normal high school students like all the other anime characters ever to exist.

 

Oh but did I mention that Haru is a bit slow socially sort of like Shiina is so here lies the real problem. Why is anime forcing these slow “special” character on us? Is it because dopey is cute or because anime knows we can’t get girlfriends so it’s showing us easier options?

 

In case you didn’t realize and I know some of you didn’t this post is sarcastic at best and any attempt to get serious on this matter will result with me laughing at you. Get smart people but don’t get politically correct on me. Despite all this I actually enjoy both these anime because they have great jokes.

 


Responses

  1. Watching people help each other gives me the warm fuzzies.

    • Yep that’s the reason I enjoy these anime too I just hope they don’t try and gives us some realistic love story at the end because these work with the wacky nature they currently have.

  2. I don’t know. I kind of want to say dopey is cute and finding someone naive gives you a sense of “I’ve gotta take care of him/her or he/she will die without me” XD. Okay maybe not die but you get the gist.

    • I know exactly what you mean but it really needs to remain an innocent friendship for this to work. I think a love story will work in the end of Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun but it might be a bit forced if they try and make Shiina love Sorata because she seems so “simple” to even understand love properly.

      • Oh but you see the beauty of love is that it’s supposed to be something magical and very easy to fall into, so even the biggest idiot can find it. That’s how I see it at least.

  3. LOL. Because love can be for everyooooone.

    • Exactly my thoughts.

  4. This post has inspired me to write a rant of my own. BTW, GOSICK and HI aren’t average, just not mainstream worthy.

    Anyway, this post tells us something very important about romance in anime, is that it’s there…just because. this is something that has angered me for quite some time. If you want to add romantic elements to a show, make me give a damn and not shrug it off as something that was conveniently added for casual squealing purposes.

    • I’ll have to keep an eye out for your post then.

      Romance for the sake of casual squealing is the worst and should be treated as if it’s not even there. The kind of romance situations I enjoy are the ones that the story is built around or the ones that occur because of character interactions and not because girl meets boy and instantly fall in love.

      • Which is exactly why it takes A LOT more for me to care about hetero couples than yuri ones.

        I still haven’t finished Natsuyuki Rendezvous but for the love of Pete, I hope I’ll get my money’s worth with that one. PLEASE END HAPPILY!

      • I think you’ll be satisfied with the ending of Natsuyuki Rendezvous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

