Posted by: AceRailgun | October 13, 2012

Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai – Imaginatively insane

I did some research on this one because even my Japanese isn’t good enough to work out what the title means. It didn’t have imouto in it so I’m screwed. Turns out the direct translation is She Has Adolescent Delusions, But I Want to Love Her! This title pretty much sums up the plot and the characters in one hit which is a pleasant surprise because some anime titles make no sense.

 

So the bland protagonist can go sit in a classroom and mope for all I care but the girl is pretty great so I hope that she gets more screen time. Why is she great you ask? Well the people who haven’t seen it yet anyway. It’s because Rikka is essentially a moe teenage pirate girl version of Okabe Rintaro from Steins;Gate and that alone is the greatest victory in my eyes. She’s not actually a pirate but she has an eye patch so I’m going to pretend she is. Besides most of the combat is based solely around Rikka’s delusions which is a nice twist to see and I feel it is also making fun of anime which do these kind of battle scenes seriously.

 

She takes an umbrella and turns it into a laser shooting sword with the power of imagination which is a power even greater then friendship. Two episodes in and I’ve already worked out the end goal. Want to hear it? The message it’s trying to send is accept yourself for who you are and don’t be afraid to dream. Feel free to quote me on that in ten weeks.

 

But you know what I like the imaginative side of the character because it is nice to see the world from a more creative view and the stark contrast between that and the normal world the rest of the characters see is charming. I’m hoping the rest of the “Harem” which is introduced later on are as quirky as Rikka or become influences by her somehow otherwise she might be the only spice in an otherwise dull anime setting.

 

Fingers crossed the delusional teen illness is contagious and that Yuta has a relapse.


Responses

  1. Yes the whole harem will be full of weirdos. Sounds fun🙂
    Oh yeah and I’ve noticed that Kyo Ani has some weird titles that make no sense but this title is surprisingly direct…..but long -_-

    • Having a cast of weirdos seems to be a requirement for anime this season. That other girl that tagged along and Rikka’s sister were both interesting.

      I’d agree the title is long but it’s certainly not a record holder. I’m just glad it makes sense.

  2. I wouldn’t call this a fav among series airing this fall, but damn it’s funny🙂

    • Agreed. I wasn’t expecting much from it so it’s to find myself laughing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

