Posted by: AceRailgun | September 26, 2012

One Year Blogging – Rundown

I’ve kept it up for an entire year which I feel shows commitment, a lot of commitment because I’m not obligated to blog about anime in any shape or form. I do this because I enjoy it, the community, the opportunity to practice writing and of course the fact that it keeps me up to date with anime are all part of the reason I blog and will continue to do so for a long time to come.

 

I’m halfway to my goal of two years and by that point in time I know I’ll be in this for the long run. I imagine a lot of people start anime blogs expecting to become instantly famous and sure I guess that’s possible but I’m not interested in that. I started this blog for one simple reason; To find people with similar interests to myself and you bet I found some, I found a lot actually.

 

Blogging has been quite the journey with good things happening and bad things as well but mostly good things. The first day I started my blog I went around all the anime blogs I knew at the time (all two of them) and I started commenting a little. Something I’d not done up until that point and guess what I didn’t get a single reply from them. Not a single one ever but that’s okay because I’ve realized that those blogs don’t need me commenting on them as they already have fans and communities. What I wanted to do was find people who were willing to take the time to reply to me personally even if my writing was poor and my communication skills were lacking.

 

I found those people and still talk to them today. Somewhat Mystia was the first the first persona to ever comment on my blog and soon after that Rei and Feal were here too. I’d found my little group of friends who I could talk to about currently airing anime and I was happy. At that point maintaining contact became the priority (Something I’m hopeless at) sorry Rei I don’t comment enough on your blog. While I strengthened the friendships I had made more and more anime fans kept popping in to say hello (see blogroll) and soon I’d found what I was looking for, a group of like minded people. So in that sense I’ve achieved everything I’ve set out to achieve when it comes to blogging and now it’s just a matter of maintaining it.

 

Discovery become the next big thing blogging was about for me. What is everyone else doing? How can I expand my audience? What is something I can do to stand out from the rest? These questions were answered for me to some degree when I was invited to many differnt colabrative posts, a blogging tourney which ended in huge messy failure and of course the creation of a site mascot. It’s certainly been a good year and I plan to go on much longer.

So now for the statistics, yay statistics. I’m not very interested in number page views, comment count etc but here is some of the other stuff.

 

Total post count to date : 263

Most views in a day : 1255 this is the day I got hit by a car and posted some stupid post I barely remember typing. Got a concussion an ended up in hospital for 48hrs that day so I wasn’t even around for all the site traffic.

Most popular search term : “acchi kocchi” How this is possible I don’t know. I didn’t even like it or review it properly.

My favorite wacky search terms: “ai ebihara bitch” (4 hits),   ” brotagonist” (21 hits),  “Persona 5” (76 hits), “Automated;Markings” (6 Hits)

Unpublished drafts: 13

Original characters created : 5

Most posts in one month: 29, was going for a post a day for a month but then got hit by a car two days before the end of the month so yeah that didn’t happen.

 

So a big thank you is due.

THANK YOU  to everyone who has been around this year and I hope we’ll all be around for many more to come.

 

Good news for anyone who read all the way to the end. I’ll be having a contest tomorrow and the next day so stick around for the juicy details. I’m not super rich and the prizes won’t appeal to everyone but hopefully at least one of you is interested.


Responses

  1. Congrats. Not a lot of bloggers make it past the first year, let alone with such a large following. I’ve actually been considering starting my own blog this coming season, but I suppose that depends on if any of the shows interest me. I really need to work on my writing and communication skills so I figure I might as well do something I enjoy while I’m at it. I can only hope I have as much success as you!

    • Thanks! I’m not sure if I’ve been as successful as you make me out to be but then again I have achieved what I wanted to achieve so I’d call that a success. Blogging is a great way to improve your writing and communications skills. I can touch type now and my grammar and punctuation has improved significantly.

      I say go for it there’s no reason not to after all.

  2. Congratulations Ace!

  3. Congratulations AR!<3 I have heard about the two-year blogging safe zone but judging from your passion, making it should be a breeze for you ^^

    • Thanks. I certainly hope so, reaching that safe zone would be a huge load off my shoulders even though it’s just a made up concept.

  4. Congrats! This is awesome. I believe you may have been one of the first bloggers I followed when I started blogging. Your posts are pretty darn good.

    • Thanks man. I don’t know if I’m that good but I’ll keep working to improve the quality of my posts.

  5. Has it really been a year? Time flies, man. Congrats!

    • Pretty crazy isn’t it. It’s amazing how much can change in just one year. I can only imagine what will happen in a year or two from now.

  6. Happy site birthday! I think your site was the first one I found that started up around when mine did, so it’s very interesting to hear that you’ve been going for a year. We’re all growing so old! And somehow brotagonist showing up in your searches doesn’t seem that odd to me.

    • We are old now but in the grand scheme of things we are but little children on the internet.

      Brotagonist is such a great search term. I don’t think I’ve used it as a tag but it still found it’s way here anyway. I’d better catch up on my manga so i can comment more on your site.

  7. GoGoGo AceRailgun! 1 year done, another hundred to go! 😀

    • I don’t think I’ll last that long but then who knows maybe I’ll still be blogging about anime when I’m 123 years old.

  8. Congrats! One year is definitely not easy and it’s always nice seeing bloggers able to make such accomplishments 😀 I’m hitting the one year mark myself soon too (in about a week actually) so yay for me as well 😀

    • I knew you started blogging about the same time I did but I didn’t realize it was so close. Congratulations are in order for you as well it seems, well if you can last another week that is 😛

      • Views had been dropping like flies recently but I’ll suffice xD

      • You don’t need to worry about views. It’s about the anime not the views. 🙂

      • True 😀

  9. Congratulations Ace! To be honest I’m a little surprised you’ve only been around for a year (perhaps I should have checked up on that at some point?), you’ve a confidence in your writing typical of someone who has been blogging a lot longer! Anyway, keep up the good work!

    PS: I’m thinking I might need to fake my own death to get my most-views-in-a-day that high! : S

    • Thanks for the confidence booster. It seems like nearly everyone thinks I’ve been around much longer and I’m not really sure why that is but oh well. Maybe I come across as mature…. I can’t even say that with a straight face.

      I’d suggest not faking your own death. I didn’t even get close to death but it still hurt a lot and hospital sucks. There has got to be better ways to get more page views, consistent posting perhaps? Maybe it’s drama, I still haven’t working it out yet.

  10. Congratulations! I’m looking forward to another year of terrific posts!

    • Thanks! I’d better work extra hard to lift my post quality.

  11. Congrats~ Keep up the good work

    • Thank you. I’ll certainly try to.

  12. Congrats! Here’s to another year eh? 😀

    • Yep! Here’s to another year and probably more after that too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

