Posted by: AceRailgun | April 10, 2012

Dusk Maiden of Amnesia Episode 1

I enjoyed that. Having the whole first half of the episode repeat with the presence of a ghost in the second half was clever and I really enjoyed it.

 

The four characters all have interesting qualities and I feel there is plenty of room for character development in the group which is nothing but a good thing. Similar to Sankarea this anime had a really good atmosphere. The school is run down enough to be creepy and at the same time functional.

 

There is some interesting things around the school which tie into the story and raise questions already. First is the cupboard in the club room which is implied to house Yuuko’s body. As far as creepy things go that’s up there with the best of them. Curiousity would defintely get the best of me and that thing would be open in no time.

 

The tombstone behind the school is also interesting. I like these kind of plot points that make me think. Who put it there? Is her body actually there? Is there a different body there? As you can probably tell I’m already excited for the potential this story has to offer.

 

The idea that Momoe Okonogi cannot see the ghost but the other two club memebers can is a bit odd. Is Momoe Okonogi just useless and cannot see ghosts or are the other two special and nobody except them can see ghosts? I guess we’ll find out in the next episode or two.

 

I’m going to be blogging this all season as long as it doesn’t take a nose dive at some point.


Responses

  1. I think this show’s gonna be great. I’ve been getting glowing recommendations from ppl who read the manga and the first episode was definitely enjoyable.

    • It started so well. I can see this turning out great so I’m happy to be blogging about it. I’ve heard nothing but good things about the manga too so that’s a good sign.

      • I agree. The series started out so good and funny. I’m definitely going to following it and blog about it. Though, I might check out the manga.

      • What I read of the manga was good so it’s probably worth it. I look forward to seeing your opinions on the anime.

  2. The first ep was full of fanservice. It’s not like I didn’t like it but if it’s going to continue this way then it will ruin the story! I want to find out why the boy is able to see ghosts and why Yuuko can’t rest in peace.

    • I’m pretty sure it’s going to dive into the story next episode. Anime tends to have perverseness in the first episode to draw in the perverts.

      • Hahaha that’s true. But truth is we’re all perverted!

  3. Oh dear! Momoe is so awesome…:D


Leave a Reply

Categories

