Posted by: AceRailgun | April 5, 2012

Spouting nonsense, lying and over exaggerating

I for one always post my exact thoughts. I’m not going to say something I don’t mean. So when something is good you’ll know about it and when something is bad Shu”ll know that too. No bad Ace. Why do Shu always have to bring Shu into this. He did nothing wrong and played his role as a bland protagonist perfectly.

 

Spouting nonsense is one thing. (Demonstrated above) but spouting lies is another. More often than not someone will lie about something because they don’t like it or the truth is too painful. I enjoy lying but not for the reasons you would expect and I believe lying can be beneficial if done correctly in a situation you are not referring to another person in. Like what I did here and here. They are not blatant lies. One is a fictitious situation based on an ideal situation and the other is a deliberate misinterpretation created to make something dry more appealing to read about.

 

But I know I’m one of the only people to use this form of lying and not the other. Recently with the announcements of the Anime Blog Tourney line up I’ve seen Twitter light up with lies. It’s not pretty and I try to avoid it for the most part because anime blogging for me is about having fun, sharing opinons and finding like minded people. But when a random stranger starts lying about one of my blogging friends it irks me. I feel like I’ve stumbled into the wolves territory once again and as a helpless deer I have no choice but to walk away nonchalantly for fear of having my head chewed off.

 

Hypothetical situation : Oh my, I think I just rustled that tree. Now they are chasing me. No my head, I need that to think about things.

 

Today’s lesson. Don’t provoke the internet.


Responses

  1. Been in lazy land for last couple of days of my break, so I have no idea what is going on, lol. From reading this post and looking at my inbox messages, I take it that the Anime Blog Tourney has gotten a little adversarial perhaps?

    • Not much is going on to be honest. For the most part things are all positive with the Anime Blog Tourney but since there has been two bad things I’ve noticed it just raises my awareness of the fact that there is people out there, even in the animeblog sphere that like to stir up trouble.

  2. Yeah…I deathly afraid of even the thought of competing in this. As soon as I found out about it, some of the comments on the aniblogtourney site gave me…frightening insights, to say the least.

    I’m conflicted enough about just voting, since two of my daily-read blogs are against each other in the first round. I can’t even imagine what I would do in a dilemma like yours. Dang wolves.

    …I hate competition (that is, competing).

    Also, you definitely got with with that “upcoming anime” post. You.

    • I never realized there was so many anime blogs until I saw the Tourney bracket. I”m going to vote once I work out how. I mean what’s the point in having a tourney if the readers aren’t voting. Just vote for who you like most. Nobody will be judging you.

      Most of the blogs I read are against blogs I don’t read which means I have to read more blogs before I can vote fairly.

  3. When it comes to the internet, I just assume everything is a lie unless proven otherwise. My question to these who seem so eager to win a tournament with no prize is simple: “Why do Shu care??” I understand doing anything to win, but I don’t ever win just for the sake of winning. But then again, I don’t care about a win unless I beat my opponent in top form.

    • That is a good way to observe the internet but it is always very negative. You can trust me I swear.

      I consider the prize for winning the tourney to be global recognition. You must be a damn good writer to win the tourney. But winning the early rounds through hate and lies is cheap and I certainly won’t be doing that.

      I shall make some good Shu images as I’ve just had a great idea.

  4. Uhhh… what exactly happened in the aniblogosphere side of the otaku bloggers realm? o.O;;

    I only know what’s going on the figure universe side of it… o.o;;

    • Not much. Just some cheap bashing on twitter and some guys lying about horrible emails. I’m not even really sure what happened myself I just stayed the away.

      • And there we go again… I guess healthy blog rivalry took a head-first dive into an empty pool sometimes…

        Well it happens, usually to those aiming for hits either for popularity or ad revenue.

      • Emails? I think I know what you’re referring to, then, though like you I just ignored it. The phrase to keep in mind during internet-related drama like this is, “The lower the stakes, the fiercer the battle.” It helps keep everything in perspective.

      • That’s a good way to look at it. I just ignore this kind of thing and pray it goes away and doesn’t involve me.

  5. Stay true, man!😀
    I want your thoughts on these anime and things (which is why I’m here XD)

    • Don’t worry I’m not changing any time soon🙂

  6. Didn’t even know that there was something like the Anime Blog Tourney, what more the number of trolls in it. I guess these are one of the instances were not knowing everything is actually good. Blogging or rather the internet as a whole should be treated as a public place, where everyone should mind their conduct what they’re saying (am I sounding like a Disciplinary Committee Member now?) not once in my several hundred times of commuting back from school have I heard someone shouting F**K for no particular reason or have I seen someone commenting on how everybody looks in the street. If you want to say something go ahead, as long as you keep in mind that not everyone would actually like to hear it, be it the truth or just some random lie. Man I didn’t know that the Otaku blogging world was actually a vicious place. . . . .

    • Ignorance is bliss.

      For the most part it’s not bad place it’s just a few people running there mouths without thinking.
      I didn’t know about the anime tourney either until I got an email telling me I was in it.
      The great thing about the tourney is that I can find new blogs. That’s the only reason I decided to stay in it instead of backing out.

  7. What is all the drama about. I seriously want to know. Point me to the right direction. If you don’t mind.

    • It’s not really that big of a deal. You can find some of it in Scamp’s twitter feed. And just look for post about the tourney on others blogs.

  8. Hmmm interesting. Though to me, the aniblogtourney is running fine, but this is coming from someone who rarely even check anything. I think I’m going to lose, and the even more funnier part is that, it’s going to take me a week, or even a month, to realize I lose. Oh well, I don’t really care about victories or defeat anyway ;p

    • Yeah there is no point in getting worked up about it. Not realizing you’ve lost is probably a good thing in the long run. I’m tending to lean towards your side of things. If I lose whatever it’s not like I stand much of a chance as all the blogs I’m against are much older than mine. But if I win even one round I’ll be ecstatic.

  9. I’m glad I’m not participating…not that I think MP would qualify anyways. Would like to stay drama free in my internet life tyvm…

    • I haven’t been involved in any drama yet. I’ve just seen some little bits of it that other people have been through. I’m staying in it for the free publicity.🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

