Posted by: AceRailgun | February 7, 2012

Yuri and Yaoi – Lesbian and Gay

Forget the picture for now that was just meant to get your attention. Well it is pretty funny but seriously just put that out of your mind for a minute. Last night I had an epiphany, no not one of those fake ones people say they have to get attention. I seriously had one. I was lying in bed ready to sleep and it was like I finished a jigsaw puzzle in my mind because now I am able to type this post on a very serious subject in an unbiased manner.

Whether you like it or not the world is filled with gays and lesbians. But what of it. How does it affect you. It doesn’t does it. A persons sexuality is there own choice and it is perfectly fine for them to do whatever they want.

 

After reading some of a manga called Girl Friends which Yerocha suggested to me I finally grasped without question what Yuri is. The manga explores the relationship between to high school girls who are sexually confused and eventually fall for each other. It was awkward for both girls but it was very interesting to read.

 

I’m going to be blunt here because it helps me get m point across. Once I was finished reading last night I obviously had Yuri on the mind and that got me thinking of the equivelent. Yaoi, yes it’s a scary word for some of you straight guys and I’ve normally avoided it too simply because it is not my thing. But once I had a think about it I’ve come up with this formula.

 

These people should be treated exactly the same as each other no exceptions.

Male reads Yuri manga = Female reads Yaoi manga

 

They are the same thing. Sure the genders are swapped but they are the same thing if you think about it. Since I read Yuri manga I must treat a girl that reads Yaoi manga exactly the same as I want to be treated.

Now into the heart of the matter, something I have no experience with as I had girlfriends through those awkward school years and was never hit on by a gay man. What makes someone gay or lesbian, a tough question which I don’t feel anyone is able to answer and if they tried they would be crazy. I’m going to use Kanji from Persona as an example for this. He like cute things, sure a lot of us guys do, i know I do. Because of this he is teased and confused because he thinks only girls are suppose to like that stuff. He is probably called gay by someone he tells this to or witnesses a similar situation to his own in a book or on television. Because he is a teenager still learning his sexaul preferences and desires he believe that he ‘might’ be gay.

 

Because of this feeling when a guy, Naoto talks to him and invites him to spend time with him. He gets the impression Naoto likes him even though he is a male as well leading to more confusion. At this point even though Kanji’s inner feels reflect gay images It would be safe to say Kanji isn’t gay, just confused. I believe Kanji would be gay for Naoto in time if she was a man and returned his feelings, however she is a reverse trap and it proves that Kanji is straight.

 

So really what i’m trying to get at is that if as a teenager I was hit on by a guy or a guy showed affection for me before a women did it is very possible that I might have become gay. Not that I want to now as I am very aware of my sexual preference and they have been set in stone. The hottest guy in the world could come up to me and show me love and i’m 100% sure I’d politely turn him down.

 

On a side note girl reads Yuri manga = Hotness

Thoughts?

Think i’m an idiot?


Responses

  1. Man, you should probably take a rest, watch Strawberry Panic and Simoun a couple of times and then come back to us. You need to purify yourself with pure Yuri goodness! 😀

    • I think Girl Friends is probably doing it for me at the moment. Those girls get into some R18+ situations on more then one occasion. I’ll get around to watching those eventually.

  2. Girls and Guys changing “sides” has been attributed to bad experiences with the opposite sex before, and I’d say that’s probably a reasonable cause for it, especially in our highly impressionable high school years. Surely we’ve all seen the Seinfeld episode where George thinks he turned Susan into lesbian right?

    • Good point that episode is pretty much what I am trying to say. It is very possible a single bad experience could make someone swap sides. I never had any bad experiences with women so I turned out straight.

  3. Adolescence is funny that way, lol, but I agree. I think everyone comes across the thought of “Am I straight?” at least once in their high school days, even if it’s a subtle out of the blue thought

    As for a girl who reads Yuri manga = Hotness indeed.^^

    A thought though – do girls think it’s hot that a guy reads Yaoi?

    • Using the logic from above I would conclude that a women would think a man reading yaoi is hot if she read yaoi. Although it’s still about sexual preference. I’m sure there is guys who read yuri that think a real girl reading yuri is creepy. It’s all about taste and the ability to see anime/manga separately from real life. We need to ask a lady 😛

      • And from a lady, yes I do think guys who read yaoi are hot.

  4. Girls that read Yuri manga ≠ Hotness
    Girls that read Yuri manga = unbelievably Hot!!!

    Fixed that for ya, lol 😀

    I blame it on hormones. Kids these days do not have any idea what they want in life, but that is just a basic part of life for anyone I think. Love is no different. You are so confused and what not, but sexual matters are different story all together. Being “straight” with a girlfriend that I am in love with every much all I can say that people like what they like. Speaking to lesbians and gays (even had a gay roommate) they pretty much feel the same way – since they can’t help it and it was all due discovery.

    Also on Kanji, if I interpreted it right, his shadow had nothing to do with him questioning his sexual orientation, despite the vast suggestions. It was more over just trying to be accepted in general, since his guff exterior covers up a special skill of his. Not going to mention that since it is spoiler wise and pertains to the games Social Link.

    • Thanks for correcting that for me. I knew it was missing something.

      Hormones are a tricky thing to explain. I know a few gay people and even one gay person that is still in the closet and doesn’t know I know he is gay. I’ve have interesting discussions with them but it always comes back to the same point which is the whole personal preference thing. I don’t have the right words to explain it so I won’t.

      The whole Kanji situation can be explained in many different ways. I remember when those episodes aired i had a new reader who got really up in arms about how it was treated in the anime. I think your interpretation is pretty much correct. He sure is one interesting character.

  5. Well. Let me help you with that since I’m bi.

    Well let’s say i’ve developed the tendencies since very early and it became a permanent fixed choice to be bi around 21. No, no matter what scientists say or the newest medical/psychological magazine says, being attracted to the same gender does not always start with sexual desires.

    I’m bi because I’m a believe, nay, i LIVE by one rule, feelings are universal. Whether or not it develops into love is irrelevant, because there is no wrong or right.

    Confused? Let me put it this way, rules and traditions, even religion, all started and began because a group of people believed that something is right or wrong.

    In correlation to being bi, i believe that feeling is universal. I can care for anyone beyond the boundaries of gender. If it develops into love then the feeling just “leveled up”, do note however that the boundaries of love, lust and obsession is only paper thin. Love won’t lead you astray, but when it becomes obsession that’s where it MIGHT become destructive (yanderes anyone?). And when love becomes lust, it loses one key factor of love, to put the other’s well being above yourself.

    I consider all gestures of love to be “pure” as it is a… how should i put it… “za powaa” (kick me for the GGG reference) that comes from the engine blocks of your mind (i said mind, because the human heart pumps blood, not love, it’s incorrect to think that love comes from the heart). It is the power to put others above yourself, a power that’s proven to be able to make the world a better place.

    Then why do people classify love between humans as Straight, Bi, Gay and Lesbians? I think that’s just what the human mind of said people are capable of understanding. Notice that when a human mind cannot comprehend something they try to classify it… Like bungee jumping, for people who found the joy of doing it, its fun, exciting, adventurous, etc. For people that don’t understand that joy, the mind automatically classify them as either; stupid, scary, dangerous. Trust me about this, because right now you should’ve noticed that human mind pattern.

    Of religion and tradition regarding S/B/G/L. They don’t exist without a reason, their ultimate purpose was to alleviate the human mind to a better state of understanding and mutual benefits. BUT, in that process, the limits of the current mind of the masses warped it… changed it into a set of “fixed rules” without looking beyond it. The essence of said religion/tradition. That they’re trying to make love as love, not lust not obsession. In the process, through limited and narrow minded humans they’re transfered from and to, they begin to be warped. This is where the problems start, because most are narrow minded HUMAN BEINGS.

    Do i get some sort of revelation and just transcended a human? Hell no, it’s just that i’ve think the world through and through, along these years and transcended my own mind to see the essence of things, how it was originally and how it was warped by the limited human mind.

    Am i crazy? Remember what i said about the limited human mind on one of the paragraphs above?

    Now you’re getting it…

    • You’re completly right on those facts. There is no right or wrong and I don’t find it wrong to fall in love with someone of the same gender as you. People misjudge those types of relationships because of religion which I think is a total non-sense. Religion is there just because humans need to believe in something, and that something is god. I am not an atheist but neighter do I believe in the bible and what the church says. And this is coming from someone who is straight.

  6. I’m flattered you took up my suggestion, but also saddened at the fact that you finished Girlfriends before I did.

    I can’t say for sure how sexuality is determined in anyone’s mind, but I’ve known quite a few gay and lesbian people, and they seem to go about things the same way the rest of us do. It’s a natural part of how they think, just like how liking the opposite gender comes naturally to the rest of us. To me, everything beyond that is just over complicating things.

    • Yeah it’s best not to over think it. That can create more questions then answers.

      The ending of Girlfriends was satisfying so get on that.

  7. I love yuri…

    • Don’t over think it.

  8. No one can really tell their sexual prefrences as a teenager. But does it really matter in gender. Anyone can love amyone. My best friend, Luke is gay. (His boyfriend is beautiful. Like a bishonen)
    I read and watch yuri. Even the h- ones. Im straight though.
    Im more of a yaoi fangirl. And if you ever plan to read or watch a yaoi then go for Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, Junjou Romantica and Gakuen Heaven.

    • Yaoi isint needed here.

    • I knew it straight girls read yuri. You’d probably be hard pressed to find a straight guy that reads Yaoi on a regular basis however.

      I’ve never really considered reading Yaoi before but then again I did watch No.6 and the only good part about that was the relationship between the two guys.

      • Ha, Thats true though.
        Can you really classify No.6 as yaoi. I mean I love them two togther but .. Sadly not many yaoi moments happen in the canon.

    • @ ritsukake: that allow me to say it’s not like this for everyone. I know some people who couldn’t sleep with people of the opposite sex. And they knew it from when they were very young, like in pre-school and primary. They just didn’t have the word for it or the picture of the whole world. Gender for those people mattered a lot.

      @acerailgun: the thing with human sexuality is that in most cases is fluid and society through institutions like religion tries to supress it. It might suppress women more when it comes to penetrative sex, but when it comes to what is considered appropriate for a man (with masculinity) is even more restrective, most probably because penises are the sexual organs that stick out of the body more and are perceived as helding power… that’s why you won’t find many men reading yaoi. My humble guess.

  9. This gives me a lot to think about. I agree that a bad experience can make someone doubt their sexuality. Glad you brought it up.

    p.s.
    Guys who read Yaoi is pretty hot 😉 But I read yaoi so idk. I’m a girl btw. I haven’t tried yuri . . . do you know the difference between them? I have an idea, but it’d be nice to know.

    • If you mean the difference between Yuri and Yaoi then it’s simple. Yuri is girls loving girls and yaoi is guys loving guys. They don’t necessarily have to have adult content to be classified as yuri or yaoi just just need to have basic elements of same sex relationships.


Leave a Reply

Categories

