Posted by: AceRailgun | January 13, 2012

Daily Lives of High School Boys Episode 1

In a one sentence summary. Lame title but great comedy.

I can’t help but feel this anime is directly competing with Nichijou and trying to show how random comedy is suppose to be done. Nichijou’s jokes were hit and miss and the build up on some of them was way too long. High School Boys however manages to break the jokes into segments. The small jokes build up to the punchline of the large joke and there is never any downtime between the funny stuff.

 

Despite being based around a group of guys at an all boys high school the content of every joke is revolved around women and this school is the perfect example as to why boy schools should not exist. It’s cruel to put all the boys in a room together and force them to look at girls from a distance. That being said they jump at every opportunity to be around a women and they also find skirts to be very intriguing.

 

The first episode was filled with good jokes so I’m hoping this isn’t all of them. It is very possible that it will get progressively worse from here on out. That being said I remember Nichijou getting better around 12-17 episodes in so that’s a point in High School Boys favor.

I’m looking forward to watching Daily Lives of High School Boys every week but I won’t be blogging about it. Episodic blogging of comedy and slice of life anime is a bad idea. A very bad idea.


Responses

  1. Just like Kill me Baby, I also greatly enjoyed this one. “Macho” Nichijou will definitely hold me over till the 2nd season of Kimi to Boku airs and I look forward to that as well. For now, I want to see the crazy otaku novel writer again. She rocked hard!

    • She was the best part of the episode. That and the end of the skirt joke was great.
      Her face is what kept making me laugh, that and her ability to hold conversation with the guy as he talked about the wind.

  2. Fuck yeah! Another one who watches this show.
    It is one of the best comedy show for the Winter season of course, other than Kill Me Baby.

    You can post your thoughts about the show, rather than doing a episodic review. Just an idea for you. I’m doing it on my blog btw.xD

    • I’ll probably be posting my though on this every now and then. I think I’m going to start doing that for anime I’m watching but not episodically blogging.

      I’ll be sure to check out your posts on it weekly as i love the show. I almost didn’t end up watching this because the title is rubbish. Lucky the PV was epic.

      I’m having trouble deciding if Kill Me Baby is better or not. It’s about even at this point.

      • Good to know. Looking forward to your thoughts.

        I’ll be checking out on yours as well. I know right.. I was in the same situation as you.

        Probably even. Kill Me Baby is cute while Macho Nichijou is manlier. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

