Posted by: AceRailgun | January 12, 2012

Mawaru Penguindrum Episode 24 Final

I’ll be the first to admit that I didn’t understand everything that happened in Mawaru Penguindrum.To be honest I think that is because I didn’t watch it one episode a week like I should have. I could have powered through it all in a few days, that would have also helped. Iwas stupid a watch it almost like clockwork once a month 4 or 5 episodes at a time. I kept forgetting what had been happening and I’m sure I dropped the ball on a few occasions when it came to character development and key plot points.

 

That being said I still really enjoyed Mawaru Penguindrum. It was unique and creative in every aspect and the music was great and the art direction was fun and new. The mains villains motives were paper thin which was a shame but the overall story arc and sheer depth of the entire cast was enough to keep me going until the end. The one big praise I have for the series is that the story arc was good. It starts off with the regular life situation and gradually builds up, revealing not everything is as it seems.

 

My only critisims would be that they couldn’t make up there mind about the serious drama of the death. Here is my memory of events.

 

Himari is going to die.

She can’t be saved.

Now she is dead.

Not really.

She is going to die again.

Now you are dead and Himari isn’t.

But wait she actually is.

 

Seriously that was a bit dodgy in my eyes. They just couldn’t make up there minds  unless they were just trolling me on purpose. Another observation I made is that for some reason Himari always seems to kind a way to end up nude when she have meaningful conversations, mostly with Kanba.

The best character was Ringo, her antics in the middle of he series were great and I like the way her story ended. The ties with her dead sister Momoka were also really interesting. She had never met her but she was constantly seeking to learn more about her. Momoka’s final act was so cryptic and I love how she just wanders off  and disappears into the shadows. This kind of mysterious character is one of my favorite types and I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it.

 

Mawaru Penguindrum is not for everybody but if you like something more intelligent to make you think then I would probably suggest it. It has ended up at 48/146 on my top anime list which is pretty decent.


Responses

  1. I don’t think it the experience changes as much whether the series is followed one ep a week, or a marathon in 3-5 days. I did the former, and as much fun as it was guessing what was going on, half, if not most of the time I was also pretty clueless. Which didn’t really bother me in the end, though I’d have to agree it’s not for everybody. ^^

    Shouma has to be my favorite character though. Proved a bunch of people wrong with what he did

    • I really liked Shouma too he had this level of complexity the other characters were lacking. I was clueless for the whole thing so your not alone. Even after it is finished I’m still not 100% sure about all the details.

  2. I’m the second to admit that, do I get a cookie? 😛

    • You can have a smiley face. 🙂

      I however can have the satisfaction that I’m not the only one to admit I don’t understands penguins with drums.

  3. My brain hurts…


Leave a Reply

Categories

