Posted by: AceRailgun | December 30, 2011

Upcoming Anime #3 Accel World

Accel world is your typical shonen manga which is being turned into an anime for Spring 2012.

Haruyuki is a bland kid middle school kid but because of his large build he is singled out and picked on by the school bully constantly. Haruyuki craves change in his life but that never comes so instead he escapes into some sort of virtual world which he just procrastinates inside of. In typical anime fashion Haruyuki is discovered and befriended by an attractive girl, Snow Black. She give him a super power and he begins to fight back against his bullies.

 

All that sounds pretty stock standard for anime which is a real shame but the thing that gets me most is that the protagonist is a fatty, It was strange at first but it didn’t take long for me to realise how unimportant it is to the plot, he could be ultra skinny and it wouldn’t make a difference. That being said it makes it less believable that two girls would have a crush on him.

 

Is it just me or is always two girls. One is a childhood friend and the other is the new mysterious girl everyone loves she acts distant but she obviously has a crush on the protagonist. Off the top of my head I can think of a few anime that already do this. Guilty Crown, Dragon Crisis and No.6. Tasogare Otome x Amnesia is also using that trope.

 

Prediction : Accel World is going to be alright, not brilliant, not bad just alright, It could have some good action scenes but unless some sort of villain is introduced right after I stopped reading the main plot will be Haryuki fighting random people trying to gain the love of Snow Black.


Responses

  1. Not really sure about one. I flipped through the manga just for the heck of it, but really did not think of it. Well, I did flip through it and not read, so maybe it might be decent.

    • It wasn’t very solid story telling but it could turn out okay I guess. I’ll probably watch it but it’s not going to be world changing.

  2. Oh well, I haven’t really read this one and from the story and visual style it does look like an interesting series…next shipment will be mine…:D

    • I might have to start buying more manga to keep up with you. 😛

  3. Hmmm shounen.. I might try this out just for the heck of it. The artwork does look pretty good though. Indeed the plot isn’t really original though it IS pretty hard to be original recently.

    • The artwork is the one thing this anime has going for it. I’m not sure if the anime art will be as nice as the manga art but I guess we will see soon enough.

      I think the only original thing this anime has going for it is the man characters fatness. 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

