Posted by: AceRailgun | November 11, 2011

Persona 4 The Animation Episode 6

Considering how sophisticated I am and how my sense of humor has been hardened by lame attempts at jokes in recent anime I usually just think to myself “This is funny” when I think a joke is good instead of laughing. The chase scene in this episode however, actually made me laugh. The writers took the simple joke of Chie and Yosuke being chased from the game and built on it. Now Yukiko and Yu get chased too even though they could have easily remained hidden. Then the bike girl comes along and I cracked up. Yukiko waving around her money whilst running was the cherry on the top of the joke cake. Before reading on make sure you watched the bit after the credits…. Okay good. So does anyone else get the gay vibe from Kanji. He fixes his hair for the meeting with the strange boy. Even Kanji seems to know it’s weird to be hanging out alone with another boy but he goes along with it anyway. Another nice new joke that wasn’t in the game was the Yosuke/Chie phone call, Chie comes across as more of a dork then Yosuke at times and that leads to some cool new situations that never happen in the orignal material.

Lastly isn’t Nanako cute. She starts referring to Yu as her older brother, the bond between them is really starting to form and its all thanks to Chie’s subtle help even if she didn’t realise it.


Responses

  1. “Considering how sophisticated I am and how my sense of humor has been hardened by lame attempts at jokes in recent anime I usually just think to myself “This is funny” when I think a joke is good instead of laughing”

    Holy cow, this is so… so right!

    And of course we are supposed to get the gay vibe from Kanji. That’s what makes him such a friggin good character!

    While I didn’t like that Chie was more dorky and feminine than she was in the game, it’s turning out quite nicely here.

    • I think they just up’d Chie’s dorky levels for this episode. I expect in future episodes that it’s Kanji and Yosuke playing the role of comic relief.
      I’m really curious as to how the characters are going to react to Kanji in future episodes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

