Posted by: AceRailgun | September 1, 2013

Three things to like about – Silver Spoon

Silver Spoon 1

It took a while, maybe 4 or 5 episodes but it’s growing on me and it’s gotten to the point where I am really enjoy it so I’m really glad I’ve stuck with it and anyone else who did the same is probably thinking the same thing.

Character development is very prominent with Hachiken for the most part but also Mikage as well in a subtle way. Her growth will most likely be seen later on in the series because at the moment Hachiken is hogging the spotlight but that’s okay because he’s the main character and because he’s interesting. His growth as a character isn’t just spoken about or told it’s shown which is most important and the things we get to see him do now and in the future are rather entertaining but strangely educational to some degree.

 

Mikage and her farm are a much better location for this anime than the school as it takes us away from the safe school setting and lets the characters not only interact with a new environment but also a range of characters that aren’t all students of the same age and I appreciate that fact more and more as I watch anime set in school.

 

Realism or at least what i believe is realism. I don’t know anything about farming but the way Silver Spoon portrays it seems very realistic. A lot of the grind is obviously cut out but we get to see so much stuff that isn’t in normal anime. That alone is enough to make this series better than a lot of anime in my eyes but it’s also the way the information is presented in bulk which gives it appeal.

 

What do you like about Silver Spoon? There is plenty here to talk about that I wouldn’t even be able to cover in a 2000+ word post.


Responses

  1. Likewise, all the things I think are positive regarding Silver Spoon :D There’s also the jokes too – farming and grotesque Silver Spoon-style jokes.. xD

    • The jokes really are funny in their own way and i hope the later episodes are packed with them. Do you really find the jokes or Grotesque scenes at all disgusting? I found the blurry chicken neck funny to be honest and not at all disgusting or inappropriate like some people seem to think it is.

      • To be honest, I don’t. I don’t find the jokes disturbing at all. Instead, I find them quite unique, they are definitely jokes that only “farming-specialized” anime like Silver Spoon can pulled off – especially jokes like chicken neck and the eggs laid from a “certain area”.

  2. I agree with you on the realism. I come from a small line of farmers and from my past exposure to farming and animals, it does a great job at capturing the overall experience. It is what mainly peeked my interest. You rarely see it in anime, as you said, and I find that appealing as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

