Posted by: AceRailgun | June 16, 2013

Upcoming Anime – Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi 1

GAH!? It’s a kamisama anime, in my recent history with anime those always look nice and shiny from the previews but as the episodes pass they fade away into dull story telling and obscurity soon being forgotten. In case you aren’t aware I’m talking about Kamisama Dolls and Kamisama notepad.doc… Don’t argue about them sucking because we are actually here to learn about ¬†Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi and prey to some kind of kamisama that it doesn’t suck.

 

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi aka The Sunday Without God¬†is a manga I read the start of and maybe it’s also a confusing light novel I heard about in passing. The idea is that a young girl who starts in a shower scene in the opening chapter of the manga befriends a mass murder because she thinks he’s her father. I’m assuming she will travel/explore the world with him and learn not only his reasoning behind murdering the entire population of the village she grew up in but also if he is truly her father.

 

There is also the added concept that nobody ages and nobody dies because the god of the series abandon the world on the last day of it’s creation resulting on a slightly different set of rules being put in place. I’m seeing a lot of potential for this story to be full of interesting moments involving the exploration of the concepts, I’m especially hoping that the god idea is explored in some form or another. It’s also possible this will tank and turn into a fan-service parade of mediocrity with the characters only catering to the writers unique desires.

 

Hopes are mildly high but not so high as to break my neck if it drops me as hard as I’ll drop it three episodes in if it circles the drain of terrible humor like I am right now. Anyone see the trailer? Anyone read the manga? Anyone who spoils it shall be forever shunned.


Responses

  1. I’m also very interested in this series; I’m hoping it will be the dark horse of the summer season.
    I haven’t looked at the manga, so my impressions are only from the creative-sounding synopsis and the rather impressive-looking trailer.

    I will argue there was at least one good Kamisama anime recently though–Kamisama Hajimemashita (or Kamisama Kiss). A fun and silly anime, though it helps if you’re into shoujo to some degree.

    • Oh yeah i forgot about Kamisama Kiss, It was funny but I’m not really into Shoujo anime so it didn’t really work for me.

      The trailer was nice but the supporting cast looked very dull so unless the focus is on the main pair I can see it becoming boring.

  2. Reblogged this on Just my guilty pleasure reblog..

  3. I have to agree with you about “kamisama” series, they’ve developed a bad rep in the last few years. I have high hopes for Kamisamo no Inai Nichiyoubi though, the light novel that it’s based on has won some prestigious awards and is very popular. Unless the producers totally screw up the adaptation, this should be a good one.

    • That’s good to hear, anything which won awards of any kind should turn out okay plus it’s being adapted by Madhouse which have done good work in the past. So long as they don’t push the loli aspect of the main character too much it should be good.

      A second trailer was released yesterday which showed off a bit of the voice acting and it fits well to the characters so that can only be a good thing.

      Fingers crossed.

  4. one hell of a god there…create the world,got bored,leave like a boss..


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

