Posted by: AceRailgun | February 24, 2012

Upcoming Anime #5 Nazo no Kanojo x

Before you say anything yes that is a manga picture but that’s only because the other stuff I could find was rubbish. The title translates to something along the lines of Mysterious Girlfriend X which is an appropriate title.

 

I read a few chapters of the manga to get a feel for what the story is about. There isn’t much of a plot beyond the relationship between Tsubaki and his new girlfriend Urabe who is a very strange girl. It had a lot of eechi content and a lot of it was very strange so I doubt the adaption is going to be 100% faithful.

 

Urabe also has this quirk where she carries around scissors and uses them as a sort of weapon, not so much to cause harm but more so to act threatening when the time comes. She is sort of like Senjōgahara from Bakemonogatari in that regard.

 

As strange as it was it had me laughing on multiple occasion and I was interested enough in the “mysterious” part of characters so I know i’ll be watching this next season if only to pass the time. I most certainly won’t be blogging about it as that right is reserved for Sankarea and Tasogare Otome x Amnesia.

 

The studio that is producing this anime is called Hoods Entertainment. Never heard of them, neither have I that’s why I looked them up. They did some anime I never watched and the inbetweening for Usagi Drop and A-Channel among other things. I’m not sure if they can pull off a full production but we will see I guess.


Responses

  1. I had my eye on this anime too. It was mentioned by OG, when we were chatting on MSN. His friend said the manga is good. Thanks for the info, I’ll watch the promo vid first before I decide to watch this. What..she is like Senjougahara? Seriously? Damn. That would be awesome! As for the studio, I think it’s all good, they did not only do A-channel and Usagi Drop but also some other good anime like, Aquarion Evol, Eden of the East movie and Infinite Stratos. Thought they only did In-Between Animation and 2nd key animation.

    • I’m looking forward to seeing the PV’s for all these anime that are coming out. It will be interesting to see if Hoods Entertainment can pull off full animation and not just inbetweens.

      I think it will be critical to pick a good voice actor for Urabe as she plays a huge role in the story.

  2. I actually read some of the manga for this too and was, strangely enough charmed by it! There’s just something about couples that operate slightly out of the norm that really appeals to me!
    I think the lack of convoluted plot and focus on their relationship will make this a nice, easy show to help introduce me to episodic blogging…

    • I think you are right, strange couples are interesting to watch. It was a touch on the mature side too which is nice for a change because a lot of anime couples lately never go past holding hands.

      It’s probably a good place to start episodic blogging as I can’t see the plot evolving into something complex. I look forward to seeing what you write about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

