Posted by: AceRailgun | October 18, 2011

Shinryaku!? Ika Musume Episode 4

Look out America squid girl is coming for you. But first she has too have an English lesson. It’s so dodgy when Japanese Anime try to put English into the dialog I can remeber when Hanasaku Iroha and Durarara tried it and it just sounded so wrong but then again Angel Beats did it well with T.K so i guess it can work. Although they always made fun of how strange T.K sounded.

I think it worked for some of the characters. Cindy sounded genuinely English even if she sounded like a different voice actor. Takeru also sound good in English but both Chizuru and Eiko sounded strange. Squid Girl herself obviously couldn’t speak English at all but what she did say was amusing and didn’t really sound too stupid. Eiko proceeds to embarrass herself and Cindy before threatening the same tourist who is still lost over a day later. Squid Girl nearly dies twice in this episode as she suffers from a tickle attack and an almost deadly fake-out from Chizuru. The last part of the episode had the return of chibi Squid Girl which doesn’t really strike my fancy. I do love it how Squid Girl was lost at the end of the episode. Maybe she will turn up in America next episode.


Responses

  1. ” Cindy sounded genuinely English even if she sounded like a different voice actor”

    I actually thought that was a English speaker for the moment, but I am pretty sure it wasn’t. Speaking of English though, they actually dubbed the first season of Ika Musume (Media Blasters), but I wouldn’t recommend it as much as I like listening to dubs occasionally.

    • I don’t mind a good dub. I jut finished Durarara in English and it was great. I didn’t know they dubbed Ika so i might have to check it out at some point. I won’t gert my hopes up though :p


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

